

DECLARATION OF RESULTS OF ELECTION

for the Waikato District Council 2022 elections

I hereby declare the results of the elections held on 8 October 2022 for the following offices:

Mayor (one vacancy)	Votes Received
BECH, Aksel (Independent)	6344
CHURCH, Jacqui (Independent)	7253
HAWKINS, Korikori	2094
PURIRI, Ra	1435
Informal votes received: 64	

Informal votes received: 64

Blank votes received: 379

I therefore declare Jacqui CHURCH to be elected.

COUNCIL

Awaroa-Maramarua General Ward (one vacancy)	Votes Received
ALFERINK, Albert (Independent)	224
COWIE, Greg (Independent)	125
HENDERSON, Stephanie Lillian	391
THOMSON, Peter	491
Informal votes received: 12	
Blank votes received: 31	
I therefore declare Peter THOMSON to be elected.	

Huntly General Ward (one vacancy)	Votes Received
LYNCH, Shelley Donnell	460
MCINALLY, Frank	124
SANDHU, Jas	214
WHYTE, David	692
Informal votes received: 19	

Blank votes received: 26

I therefore declare David WHYTE to be elected.



Newcastle-Ngāruawāhia General Ward (two vacancies) Votes Received

GIBB, Janet (Independent) 2151

PATTERSON, Eugene 1903

WHETU, James 884

Informal votes received: 1

Blank votes received: 46

I therefore declare Janet GIBB and Eugene PATTERSON to be elected.

Tamahere-Woodlands General Ward (two vacancies)

Votes Received

BEAVIS, Crystal 1904

FURBOROUGH, Luke 619

KEIR, Mike 1979

WOOLERTON, Chris 1357

Informal votes received: 1

Blank votes received: 37

I therefore declare Crystal BEAVIS and Mike KEIR to be elected.

Tai Raro Takiwaa Maaori Ward (one vacancy)

Votes Received

MATATAHI-POUTAPU, Tutata Paaniora Sevilla 514

NIKORA, Kawekura 352

Informal votes received: 0

Blank votes received: 55

I therefore declare Tutata Paaniora Sevilla MATATAHI-POUTAPU to be elected.

Tai Runga Takiwaa Maaori Ward (one vacancy)

Votes Received

HAWKINS, Korikori 326

ORMSBY COCUP-HUGHES, Sharnay (Independent) 131

TURNER, Tilly 530

Informal votes received: 6

Blank votes received: 17

I therefore declare Tilly TURNER to be elected.



Tuakau-Pōkeno General Ward (two vacancies) Votes Received

CHURCH, Jacqui (Independent) 1956

NGATAKI, Kandi Awhina Maxine 619

REEVE, Vern 1353

TAPINE, Doris Mereana 178

Informal votes received: 0

Blank votes received: 9

I therefore declare Jacqui CHURCH and Vern REEVE to be elected.

As Jacqui CHURCH has been declared elected mayor to the Waikato District Council, her name has been withdrawn and the next highest polling candidate Kandi Awhina Maxine NGATAKI is declared elected.

Waerenga-Whitikahu General Ward (one vacancy) Votes Received

RAUMATI, Marlene (Independent) 1083

THOMPSON, Tremayne (North Waikato WHAKAPAI) 317

Informal votes received: 0

Blank votes received: 53

I therefore declare Marlene RAUMATI to be elected.

Whāingaroa General Ward (one vacancy) Votes Received

PURIRI, Ra 285

THOMSON, Lisa (Independent) 1205

Informal votes received: 0

Blank votes received: 34

I therefore declare Lisa THOMSON to be elected.



COMMUNITY BOARDS

Huntly Community Board (six vacancies)	Votes Received
BREDENBECK, Kim	1063
HETET, Pare	577
MARUNUI, Tracy	323
MATENGA, Sheryl (Independent)	727
MCCUTCHAN, Greg	656
MCINALLY, Frank	617
SANDHU, Jas	909
SINGH, Ravinder	303
WAIKAI, Koroki Te Wherowhero	593
WAWATAI, Eden	1037
WHYTE, David	1435

Informal votes received: 4

Blank votes received: 20

I therefore declare Kim BREDENBECK, Sheryl MATENGA, Greg MCCUTCHAN, Jas SANDHU, Eden WAWATAI and David WHYTE to be elected.

As David WHYTE has been declared an elected member to the Huntly General Ward, his name has been withdrawn and the next highest polling candidate Frank MCINALLY is declared elected.

Ngāruawāhia Community Board (six vacancies)	Votes Received
AYERS, Jack	832
FIRTH, Dianne	926
HOOKER, Keryn (Independent)	857
MORGAN, Kiri-Kahurangi Breeze	1220
RICE, Venessa	974
TOKO, Jamie (Independent)	760
WIECHERN, Greg	1099

Informal votes received: 2

Blank votes received: 53

I therefore declare Jack AYERS, Dianne FIRTH, Keryn HOOKER, Kiri-Kahurangi Breeze MORGAN, Venessa RICE and Greg WIECHERN to be elected.



Raglan Community Board (six vacancies)	Votes Received
AMOORE, Dennis (Independent)	826
BAINS, Satnam	885
BINNERSLEY, Kiri Atawhai (Independent)	875
COOMBES, Selena Marie	390
LEVY, Michelle	655
MARINOVICH, Jason Tani	284
OOSTEN, Tony	796
RAYNER, Chris	826
WALLIS, Ross	927

Informal votes received: 2

Blank votes received: 39

I therefore declare Dennis AMOORE, Satnam BAINS, Kiri Atawhai BINNERSLEY, Tony OOSTEN, Chris RAYNER and Ross WALLIS to be elected.

Western Districts General Ward (one vacancy)

Elected unopposed when nominations closed was Carolyn EYRE.

Rural-Port Waikato Community Board

North Subdivision (two vacancies)

Elected unopposed when nominations closed were Rosemarie COSTAR and Leah Jane FRY.

South Subdivision (two vacancies)

Elected unopposed when nominations closed were Bruce CAMERON and Flee COKER-GREY.

Taupiri Community Board (four vacancies)

Elected unopposed when nominations closed were Dorothy LOVELL, Howard LOVELL, Jo MORLEY and Sharnay ORMSBY COCUP-HUGHES.



Tuakau Community Board (six vacancies)

Elected unopposed when nominations closed were David Calder HENDERSON, Vern REEVE and Grace TEMA-LIAPANEKE.

As Vern REEVE has been declared an elected member to the Tuakau-Pōkeno General Ward, his name has been withdrawn. A by-election will be held for the remaining vacancies on 17 February 2023.

Dated Ngāruawāhia, 14 October 2022

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer

Waikato District Council

15 Galileo Street, Ngāruawāhia

Phone 0800 922 822