

Minutes of a hearing by the Policy & Regulatory Committee (to hear and consider submissions and make recommendations on the Proposed Waikato District Council Speed Llmity Bylaw 2011) held in the Council Chambers, District Office, 15 Galileo Street, Ngaruawahia on **MONDAY 27 NOVEMBER 2017** commencing at **9.00am**.

Present:

Cr JD Sedgwick (Chairperson)

His Worship the Mayor, Mr AM Sanson

Cr AD Bech

Cr JA Church

Cr DW Fulton

Cr JM Gibb

Cr SL Henderson

Cr SD Lynch

Cr RC McGuire [until 12.02pm and from 12.13pm]

Cr FM McInally [from 11.21am]

Cr BL Main

Cr EM Patterson

Cr NMD Smith

Cr LR Thomson

Attending:

Mrs S O'Gorman (General Manager Customer Support)

Mrs W Wright (Committee Secretary)

Ms A Murphy (Corporate Planner)

Ms J Underwood (Consultant Engineer)

Mr G Bellamy (Safety Engineer - Roading)

Mr W Furlong (Asset Management Team Leader - Roading)

Mr B Cameron (Submitter, Onewhero-Tuakau Community Board)

Mr T Follows (NZAA)

Members of Staff

Member of the Public

APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

All members were present.

CONFIRMATION OF STATUS OF AGENDA ITEMS

Resolved: (Crs Thomson/Main)

THAT the agenda for a hearing of the Policy & Regulatory Committee held on Monday 27 November 2017 be confirmed and all items therein be considered in open meeting.

AND THAT all reports and submissions be received and taken as read noting the striking out of a paragraph within Submitter 17 – referring to a Councillor, which is considered vexatious.

CARRIED on the voices

P&R1711/01

DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

There were no disclosures of interest.

REPORT

Recommended 2017 Amendments to 2011 Speed Limit Bylaw Hearing Agenda Item 4.1

On 4 September 2017 Council resolved to consider and approve the Proposed 2017 Amendments to 2011 Waikato District Council Speed Limit Bylaw for public notification and consultation, in accordance with section 83 of the Local Government Act 2002 (special consultative procedure).

The Road Safety Engineer gave a powerpoint presentation as an overview of the Bylaw.

Tabled Item: Speed Bylaw Intro Hearing November 2017

Hearing of Submissions

The following submitters presented their submission in relation to the Speed Limit Bylaw:

Submitter Name	Organisation	Submitter No	Submission Reference
Bruce Cameron		69	All Roads
Bruce Cameron	Onewhero-Tuakau Community Board	18	B, C, D
Trevor Follows	NZAA	31	B, C, D
Monique Haines on behalf of Leah Fry	Chair, Port Waikato Rate Payer Association	4	H, I

Tabled Item: Powerpoint from Leah Fry; Safer Waikato Roads

Further discussion was held with reference to the four options stipulated in the Agenda Report (page 6).

The General Manager Customer Support reminded the Committee of the guidelines in the Bylaw and process.

The hearing was adjourned at 10.36am and resumed at 10.59am.

The Consultant Engineer highlighted the proposed changes in Maps 1 to 18.

Resolved: (Crs Main/Church)

THAT pursuant to sections 83 of the Local Government Act 2002, the Committee consider and, where requested, hear submissions on the notified Proposed 2017 Amendments to the Waikato District Council Speed Limit Bylaw 2011.

CARRIED on the voices

P&R1711/02

Resolved: (Crs Church/Main)

THAT subject to any amendments, the proposed bylaw be further considered by the Committee at its meeting on 27 November 2017 with a view to recommending to the Council at its meeting on 11 December 2017, that the 2017 Amendments to the WDC Speed Bylaw 2011 be adopted noting that the signage of Tuakau Road, Ray Wright Road, Bayly Road, Burrow Road and Upper Queen Street in Pukekohe will be installed to coincide with the adoption of Auckland Transport proposed Speed Limit Bylaw Change.

A division was called:

Cr AD Bech – in Favour	Cr NMD Smith - Against
Cr JA Church – in Favour	Cr FM McInally - Abstention
Cr DW Fulton – in Favour	
Cr JM Gibb – in Favour	
Cr SL Henderson – in Favour	
Cr SD Lynch – in Favour	
Cr BL Main – in Favour	
Cr EM Patterson – in Favour	
His Worship the Mayor, Mr AM Sanson – in Favour	
Cr LR Thomson – in Favour	
Cr JD Sedgwick – in Favour	

CARRIED on a division with 11 voting in Favour, 1 voting Against and 1 Abstention

P&R1711/03

Cr McInally entered the hearing at 11.21am during discussion on the above item.

Cr McGuire withdrew from the hearing at 12.02pm and was not present during discussion or voting on the above item.

Resolved: (Crs Church/Main)

THAT the Committee chooses Option 4 of the Agenda report:

To keep the status quo of 100km/h from Tuakau Bridge to Te Kohanga village, to reduce Te Kohanga village to 80km/h (800m), Te Kohanga village to Klondyke Road – 100km/h, from Klondyke Road to the Port Waikato Village – 80km/h (1.2km from Maunsell Road).

A division was called:

Cr JA Church – in Favour	Cr AD Bech - Against
Cr SD Lynch – in Favour	Cr DW Fulton - Against
Cr BL Main – in Favour	Cr JM Gibb - Against
Cr NMD Smith - in Favour	Cr SL Henderson – Against
His Worship the Mayor, Mr AM Sanson - in	Cr EM Patterson - Against
Favour	
Cr JD Sedgwick - in Favour and Casting Vote in	Cr LR Thomson - Against
Favour	
	Cr FM McInally - Abstention

CARRIED on a division with 7 voting in Favour with the casting vote by the Chair, 6 voting Against and 1 Abstention

P&R1711/04

Resolved: (Crs Main/Gibb)

THAT the Waikato District Council Speed Limit Bylaw Amendment 2015 be revoked on the day the Waikato District Council Speed Limit Bylaw Amendment 2017 comes into effect.

CARRIED on the voices

P&R1711/05

Cr McGuire re-entered the hearing at 12.13pm following discussion on the above item and was not present when voting took place.

There being no further business, the hearing was closed at 12.15pm.

Minutes approved and confirmed this

day of

2017.

Minutes: 27 November 2017

JD Sedgwick
CHAIRPERSON

Minutes2017/P&R/171127 P&R M.doc