WAIKATO DISTRICT COUNCIL

POKENO COMMUNITY COMMITTEE

<u>MINUTES</u> of the inaugural meeting of the Pokeno Community Committee in the Pokeno Community Hall, Cnr Great South Road and Market Street, Pokeno on <u>TUESDAY 12 APRIL</u> <u>2016</u> commencing at <u>7.30pm</u>.

Present: His Worship the Mayor

Cr J Church Cr L Petersen

Attending: Mr T Whittaker (Acting Chief Executive)

Members of the public

PCC1604/01 PURPOSE OF MEETING

The Acting Chief Executive introduced himself, welcomed everyone present and advised that he would conduct the meeting until the election of a Chairperson.

PCC1604/02 NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF MEMBERS

The Acting Chief Executive explained the proposed process for securing nominations, he suggested the process would be:

- nominations would be called for
- the nominee will be asked whether they are happy to have their name put forward
- a seconder for that nomination will be sought
- in the event more than 12 nominations are received, an election will be held.

The Acting Chief Executive asked for support for himself, His Worship the Mayor and Councillors Church and Petersen being scrutineers. The meeting supported this.

The Acting Chief Executive advised that once the Committee members were known, those members would be asked whether they would like to proceed with the election of Chair, Deputy Chair and Secretary or whether they would prefer to wait until the next meeting to make these appointments. The latter option was to provide the opportunity for members to meet and get to know each other.

The Acting Chief Executive called for nominations for membership of the Pokeno Community Committee.

22 nominations were received:

Doug Rowe	nominated by	Helen Clotworthy	seconded by	Paul Wood
Kris Hines	nominated by	Steve O'Brien	seconded by	Howard Gould
Julie Nimmo	nominated by	Helen Clotworthy	seconded by	Lisa Walden
Maurice Roberts	nominated by	Joseph Montgomery	seconded by	Paul Lesley
John Laurence	nominated by	Helen Clotworthy	seconded by	Julie Nimmo
John Noble	nominated by	Helen Clotworthy	seconded by	John Clotworthy
Lance Striker	nominated by	Craig Seddon	seconded by	Cath Trion
Paul Heta	nominated by	Haupai Mongomery	seconded by	Joseph Montgomery
Helen Clotworthy	nominated by	Paul Wood	seconded by	Tricia Graham
Trevor Armstrong	nominated by	Neil Aitken	seconded by	Sandy Edwards
Wayne Rodgers	nominated by	Jane Wood	seconded by	Helen Clotworthy
Haupai Montgomery	nominated by	Paul Heta	seconded by	Matnei Zashea
Todd Miller	nominated by	Rochelle Baker	seconded by	Nigel Clap
Howard Gould	nominated by	Val Gould	seconded by	Chris Hines
Janet McRobbie	nominated by	Wayne Rodgers	seconded by	Anne Manukau
Marie Blowers	nominated by	Dave Rowe	seconded by	Coral Timmons
Charles Hackett	nominated by	Helen Clotworthy	seconded by	John Clotworthy
Tricia Graham	nominated by	Helen Clotworthy	seconded by	Debbie Hall
Rick Odom	nominated by	PB Jacobs	seconded by	Gerard Petersen
Alpesh Patel	nominated by	Nema Patel	seconded by	Mary Henry
Sharath Chitturi	nominated by	Lisa Walker	seconded by	Brian Baker

PCC1604/02/1 Resolved: (Crs Church/Petersen)

THAT nominations for membership to the Committee be closed.

CARRIED

PCC1604/02/2 Resolved: (Crs Church/Petersen)

THAT Lance Straker, Paul Heta, Helen Clotworthy, Wayne Rodgers, Todd Miller, Janet McRobbie, Charles Hackett, Doug Rowe, Kris Hines, Morris Roberts, Tricia Graham and Ric Odom be appointed elected members of the Pokeno Community Committee.

CARRIED

The following items were deferred to the next meeting of the committee:

- Appointment of Chairperson and deputy Chairperson
- Appointment of Secretary
- Draft Pokeno Community Committee Charter
- Roles and Responsibilities of Members of the Pokeno Community Committee
- Date and Time of Meetings.

Following	the	items	being	deferred	to	the	next	meeting,	the	meeting	was	declared	closed
at 9.45pm.													

C	Conf	irmed	at a	meeting c	of t	:he F	Pokeno	Communit	ty Committee	held	d on	 . 20	16	٠
					-				-,			 . — -		٠.

•••••

CHAIRPERSON

Minutes2016\PCC\160412_PCC_M.doc