Waikato District Council Triennial Election 2016 Tamahere Community Committee

Monday 17 October 2016

Present

WDC: Mayor Allan Sanson, CEO. Gavin Ion, Cr. Aksel Bech

Public: Ro Edge, Leo Koppens, Philippa Stevenson, Sue Robertson, Jane Manson, Joy Wright,

Maggie Wilcock, Donna Nichols, Charles Fletcher, Bevin Coley, Shelley Howse, Connie Short, Tricia Sanson, Crystal Beavis, Tim Van De Molen, Joy Rikys, Ray Rikys, Graham

McAdam & Dallas Fisher

Apologies: James Yearsley, Godfrey Bridger

CEO. Gavin Ion

Gavin welcomed everyone to the meeting. The purpose of the meeting was to elect a new Tamahere Community Committee [TCC] for the next 3 years. Gavin as Chair would also cover council protocols that impact on Community Boards and Committees. He introduced the re-elected Mayor Allan Sanson and the new Tamahere Councillor, Aksel Bech.

Apologies:

Motion: Apologies accepted.

Moved: Leo Koppens

Seconded: Charles Fletcher

All in favour: Carried

Election:

CEO. Gavin lon called for nominations; citing current charter as 5 minimum and 12 maximum. From the floor Dallas Fisher asked to elect the whole committee as a whole as happened in the 2013 election.

The current committee was asked to raise their hands if they were prepared to stand and then anyone else who wished to be considered. This resulted in 11 previous members standing and three new members which exceeded the current maximum number in the charter.

Motion: The Tamahere Community Committee moves that it has a maximum of 14 members for the next three years.

Moved: Dallas Fisher
Seconded: Sue Robertson

All in favour: Carried

Motion: Leo Koppens called for nominations to be closed.

Moved: Leo Koppens Seconded: Sue Robertson

All in favour: Carried

New Committee:

Ro Edge, Leo Koppens, Sue Robertson, Jane Manson, Joy Wright, Donna Nichols, Charles Fletcher, Bevin Coley, Shelley Howse, Connie Short, Tim Van De Molen, James Yearsley, Graham McAdam & Dallas Fisher

Each member introduced themselves and this was followed by the new Tamahere Councillor, Aksel Bech and the Mayor Allan Sanson who welcomed Aksel to council.

Confirmation of Agenda:

Motion: agenda to be confirmed.

Moved: Dallas fisher
Seconded: Donna Nichols

All in favour: Carried

Disclosures of interest:

Gavin Ion asked the committee for any conflicts of interest to be raised; response NONE.

Statutory Requirements:

Gavin Ion drew to the committee's attention the current laws that pertain to elected members.

The committee operates as a sub-committee of council therefore has to be aware of these Acts and details of these can be obtained or advised on by the local councillor. It should be noted that the committee should be particularly aware of Health & Safety issues, matters of privacy, media statements and legal disputes.

Question from the floor: Dallas Fisher asked if council has carried out this review of Acts with the Tamahere Community Centre Committee?

Answer: No but Gavin Ion undertook to do so.

Motion: That the report on statutory requirements be received

Moved: Dallas Fisher

Seconded: Tim Van De Molen

All in favour: Carried

Appointment of Chairperson & Deputy:

Nominated Dallas Fisher for Chair.

Moved: Leo Koppens
Seconded: Bevin Coley
All in favour: Carried

Motion: Leo Koppens called for nominations to be closed.

Moved: Charles Fletcher Seconded: Leo Koppens

All in favour: Carried

Nominated Sue Robertson for Deputy Chair.

Moved: Leo Koppens Seconded: Jane Manson

All in favour: Carried

Motion: Leo Koppens called for nominations to be closed.

Moved: Charles Fletcher Seconded: Connie Short

All in favour: Carried

Appointment of Secretary:

Nominated Donna Nichols for Secretary.

Moved: Jane Manson Seconded: Ro Edge All in favour: Carried

Motion: Tim Van De Molen called for nominations to be closed

Moved: Tim Van De Molen Seconded: Sue Robertson

All in favour: Carried

Date and time of meetings for the Tamahere Community Committee:

Meetings will be held the first Monday of the month commencing at 7.30pm except for those dates that fall on a public holiday. Therefore the in 2016 the February & June dates will be 13 Feb & 12 June.

Council practice is for no meetings in January, April, July and October but this committee wishes to continue with just no meeting in January in order to fit in all their commitments. The committee accepts council has to organise staff, but it is possible to run meetings without any council presence.

Motion: Tamahere Community Committee will have no meeting in January or as decided by the committee.

Moved: Charles Fletcher Seconded: Sue Robertson

All in favour: Carried

Committee Charter:

The current community charter report was received and accepted.

Membership: The current charter has 12 as the maximum number so this needs to be changed to reflect the 14 nominated and accepted members at this meeting.

Funding: Gavin Ion confirmed that the committee administration fees are in the Annual Plan. There is also an annual allocation of \$10,000.00 which any community committee can apply to for supporting its operation.

Motion: Confirm charter as amended and note that Tamahere Community Committee can modify this provided it is in consultation with council.

Moved: Charles Fletcher Seconded: Dallas Fisher

All in favour: Carried

Code of Conduct:

The committee is required to function in a manner that respect is shown to all.

Motion: The code of conduct report was received and accepted.

Moved: Charles Fletcher Seconded: Jane Manson

All in favour: Carried

Meeting closed at 8.30pm. First meeting of the new committee

Monday 7th November 7.30pm Tamahere Community Centre