

Minutes of a hearing by the Policy & Regulatory Committee (to hear and consider submissions and make recommendations on the Proposed Waikato District Council Freedom Camping Bylaw 2016) held in the Council Chambers, District Office, 15 Galileo Street, Ngaruawahia on **WEDNESDAY 6 JULY 2016** commencing at **9.02am** and reconvening on **TUESDAY** 12 JULY 2016 at **9.01am** 

#### Present:

Cr DW Fulton (Chairperson)

His Worship the Mayor Mr AM Sanson

Cr JC Baddeley

Cr JM Gibb

Cr WD Hayes

Cr SD Lynch

Cr RC McGuire

Cr LM Petersen

Cr MR Solomon

# **Attending:**

Mrs S Duignan (General Manager Customer Support)

Mrs W Wright (Committee Secretary)

Mr C Birkett (Monitoring Team Leader)

Ms M Russo (Corporate Planner)

Mr C Aitchison (Raglan Resident)

Mrs | Brown (Secretary of Union Church Raglan)

Mr T Duff (Raglan Backpackers and Waterfront Lodge)

Ms S Edmonds (Eureka Community Planning Committee)

Ms M Haines (Port Waikato Residents and Haines Ratepayers Association)

Mr D Hall (NZ Police)

Ms S Hall (Raglan Resident, in Tourism Industry)

Ms S Hart (Raglan Sport Fishing Club)

Mr K Holmes on behalf of Roy Breeze (NZ Fire Service)

Mr G Mackie (Chairperson, Huntly Youth Focus Trust)

Mr G Mackie (Huntly Resident and member of the NZMCA)

Mr B MacLeod (Raglan Community Board)

Mr B MacLeod (speaking as Raglan Resident and member of the NZMCA)

Mr C Thomson (Secretary, Raglan Residents and Ratepayers Association)

Ms G Wilson (Raglan Resident)

Mr K Wooderson (Raglan District Union Church)

Mr C Young (Raglan Surfing School Ltd)

Members of Staff

### **APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE**

Resolved: (Crs Gibb/Hayes)

THAT an apology be received from and leave of absence granted to Cr Church, Cr Costar, Cr Sedgwick, Cr N Smith and Cr Tait.

**CARRIED** on the voices

P&R1607/01

#### **CONFIRMATION OF STATUS OF AGENDA ITEMS**

Resolved: (Crs Hayes/Lynch)

THAT the agenda for a hearing of the Policy & Regulatory Committee held on Wednesday 6 July 2016 be confirmed and all items therein be considered in open meeting and receive one page from Submission 48.

**CARRIED** on the voices

P&RI607/02

#### **DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST**

There were no disclosures of interest.

## **REPORTS**

<u>Submissions on the Proposed Waikato District Council Freedom Camping Bylaw 2016</u> Agenda Item 3.1

On 19 April 2016 Council resolved to consider and approve the Proposed Waikato District Council Freedom Camping Bylaw 2016 for public notification and consultation, in accordance with section 11 of the Freedom Camping Act 2011, and section 83 of the Local Government Act 2002 (special consultative procedure).

The General Manager Customer Support gave an overview of the Bylaw and the Act.

The Monitoring Team Leader informed the Committee about the order of the Hearing.

Resolved: (Crs Fulton/Petersen)

THAT the report of the General Manager Customer Support be received;

AND THAT pursuant to sections 83 and 150 of the Local Government Act 2002, the Committee consider and, where requested, hear submissions on the notified Proposed Waikato District Council Freedom Camping Bylaw 2016.

**CARRIED** on the voices

P&RI607/03

# **Hearing of Submissions**

The following submitters presented their submission in relation to the Proposed Waikato District Council Freedom Camping Bylaw 2016:

Submitter Name	Organisation/On Behalf Of	Submitter No	Appendix I - staff comments	Appendix 2 - original submissions
Chris Aitchison	Raglan Resident	24	31	61
Monique Haines	Port Waikato Residents and Ratepayers Association	79	98	227
David Hall	NZ Police	39	46	99
Julia Brown	Secretary, Raglan District Union Church	46	55	120
Keith Wooderson	Raglan District Union Church	48	58	125

The hearing was adjourned at 10.34am and resumed at 10.54am.

Sheryl Hart	Raglan Sport Fishing Club	41	48	105
Susan Hall	Raglan Resident	72	90	201
Timothy Duff	Raglan Backpackers & Waterfront Lodge	71	86	196
Charlie Young	Raglan Surfing School Ltd	60	75	163
Genny Wilson	Raglan Resident	75	94	217
Bob MacLeod	Raglan Resident and member of the NZMCA	69	84	190
Bob MacLeod	Raglan Community Board	68	83	187
Sue Edmonds	Eureka Community Planning Committee	28	35	70
Chrys Thompson	Raglan Residents and Ratepayers Association	70	85	193

The hearing was adjourned at 12.04pm and resumed at 12.57pm.

Graham Mackie	Huntly Youth Focus Trust	78	97	224
Graham Mackie	Huntly Resident & Member of NZMCA	78	97	224
Kevin Holmes	Roy Breeze, New Zealand Fire Service	55	67	146

The hearing was adjourned at 1.14pm and resumed at 1.48pm.

## Resolved: (Crs Hayes/Solomon)

THAT subject to any amendments, the proposed bylaw will be further considered by the Committee at its meeting on 12 July 2016.

## **CARRIED** on the voices

P&RI607/04

The hearing was adjourned at 1.59pm and reconvened at 9.01am on Tuesday 12 July 2016.

# **Present:**

Cr DW Fulton (Chairperson)
His Worship the Mayor Mr AM Sanson
Cr JC Baddeley
Cr J Gibb
Cr WD Hayes
Cr SD Lynch
Cr RC McGuire
Cr L Petersen

## **Attending:**

Cr MR Solomon

Mr GJ Ion (Chief Executive)
Mrs S Duignan (General Manager Customer Support)
Mr R McCulloch (Regulatory Manager)
Mr C Birkett (Monitoring Team Leader)
Ms M Russo (Corporate Planner)
Mrs W Wright (Committee Secretary)
Members of Staff

#### **DELIBERATIONS**

Tabled: Proposed Freedom Camping Bylaw Deliberations (with track changes)

The Commissioners undertook deliberations on all submissions and amendments presented.

# Resolved: (Crs Lynch/McGuire)

THAT subject to the amendments, the proposed bylaw will be further considered for adoption by the Council at its meeting on 12 September 2016.

CARRIED on the voices P&R1607/05

Hearing adjourned at 10.09am.

Minutes approved and confirmed this day of 2016.

DW Fulton
CHAIRPERSON
Minutes2016/P&R/160706 P&R M.doc